Overdue

This post is long overdue. I’m not a big “sick” person, meaning that either I don’t really get sick or that if I do, it normally doesn’t last for more than a couple of days. But I’ve been under the weather since Sunday, and whatever this bug is, it is totally kicking my butt.

For this week’s nails, I wanted to spice up a white manicure– white nails are such a hit this summer but I feel like they’re not such a hit against my skin tone. I figured that if I added a little bit of color, I’d be okay ;)

I decided to do a watercolor effect for the design; I don’t have any visual tutorials but hopefully I can explain it in a way that makes sense!

After painting your nails a solid white color (I used Snow Me White by Sinful Colors), choose the colors that you’d like to use for your watercolor design. I chose three: a blue, a coral and a teal.

Blue: Boat Basin by NYC

Coral: Hazard by Sinful Colors

Teal: Tudor City Teal by NYC

– Select your first color and paint a coat of that color over a small area of your nail. Taking a paint brush, dip the brush into pure acetone and gently dab at the color with the brush. You’ll see that the color will start to swirl, similar to the effect you see when painting with watercolors. Using the same dabbing motion, spread the area of swirled color out however you’d like.

– You’re basically going to repeat the above step with your other chosen colors on the same nail, and repeat once again on your other nails until you’re finished– it’s a pretty easy-peasy design idea!

photo 3

photo 2

I’m going to go get better now, and hopefully I’ll have another fun post for you up by this weekend. Have a fabulous one! xo

6 thoughts on “Overdue

Say Something!

