2014 Oscars: Best Of The Mani Cam

Last night, before Ellen walked onstage to host the 86th Academy Awards, E! rolled out the red carpet for its mani cam, a popular segment known to all members of the nail art community. From the looks seen on the ‘runway’, it’s clear that the trend is shifting away from statement nail art and instead going towards neutral and pastel options, perfect since spring is just around the corner.

The theme that caught my eye this awards show was the use of pale pink tones– Kristin Chenoweth, with her adorable pixie cut hairstyle, showed off her neutral stiletto mani embellished with glitter tips:

KC

Lupita Nyong’o complemented her pale blue Prada gown with a pastel pink with a hint of shimmer:

LN

I tried my best to mesh these two looks into one easy manicure– a whole lot of pastel pink with just a subtle hint of shimmer. Simple, yet fit for the red carpet! I used Martha from Julep topped with a thin coat of Pixie Dust from e.l.f. Interested in creating a red carpet mani of your own? Check out Julep’s line of nail colors and get creative!

photo 1

photo 2

I have much appreciation for the mani cam, regardless of others’ snide remarks about how ridiculous it is; I can appreciate the fact that E! has chosen to target the nail art community as its audience during this particular portion of the awards show. Those who aren’t into the concept of nail art won’t understand how we (nail artists) perceive our nails to be a vital statement accessory to the outfits we wear. But that’s okay! I’ll celebrate my ridiculousness– who’s with me? ;)

What look did you spot at the 2014 Oscars that you liked best? Let me know by leaving a comment, or tweeting me at @thisjenngirl!

5 thoughts on “2014 Oscars: Best Of The Mani Cam

  1. Oooh you did Oscars nails too! I love them :D
    And I totally agree about the mani cam. I don’t care that other people think it’s ridiculous, it’s a great way to let everyone show off their nails.

  2. Pingback: NOTD: Oscars-Inspired Pale Pink Glitter - Julep Blog - Julep Beauty Buzz

  3. Pingback: Polished PR Featured On Julep Beauty Buzz | Polished PR

  4. Pingback: Workplace Wednesday: Waterfall Nail Art | Polished PR

Say Something!

